Spencer Bayston earns 1st World of Outlaw win taking the Brad Doty Classic at Attica


Tuesday, July 13, 2021

By Brian Liskai

ATTICA, Ohio (July 13, 2021) – Attica Raceway Park will forever hold a special spot in the heart of Spencer Bayston. The Lebanon, Indiana resident can now say he is a World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series winner after taking the 33rd Annual Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic Presented by Racing Optics Tuesday in front of a packed stands at “Ohio’s Finest Racing” speed plant.

Attica was also the place where a then 18-year-old Bayston scored his first ever All Star Circuit of Champions victory in April 2017 in just his 15th time behind the wheel of a winged 410 sprint car.

Bayston, who just a few weeks ago was named the driver of the Mike McGhee #11, came into Attica with a ton of momentum after winning the $8,000 All Star event Saturday, July 10 at Sharon Speedway in Hartford Ohio. Tuesday’s victory in the Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic Presented by Racing Optics was worth $10,000.

“This is so unbelievable. I can’t thank Mike and Kathy McGhee and Sam McGhee enough for this opportunity. It’s not only my first World of Outlaws win but the first for Sam McGhee Motorsports and Kevin Osmolski. I won my first winged sprint car race at Attica and now my first World of Outlaw race here. To win the Brad Doty Classic….what a cool event to honor a great man. This is a day I will never forget,” said Bayston beside his Mike McGhee & Associates, XYZ Machining, Champion Oil, FK Rod Ends backed #11.

“I had decided I didn’t want to race all that much anymore. Rides were hard to come by and I enjoyed being around my family. Then this opportunity came about and it’s just been a blast,” added Bayston.

Logan Schuchart and Tyler Courtney brought the field to green for the 40-lap feature with Schuchart edging out Courtney for the lead while Brad Sweet, Bayston and Cory Eliason gave chase. The race was plagued early with cautions with the first flying on lap two when Kyle Larson stopped. Two laps later just after Courtney drove into the lead another caution flew.

While battling for the lead on lap six Schuchart and Courtney nearly got together with Courtney spinning. A red on lap seven showed the running order Schuchart, Bayston, Sweet, Eliason, James McFadden, Carson Macedo and Sheldon Haudenschild. Bayston wasted little time showing how great his car was as he blasted into the lead on the restart.

While Bayston pulled away, the battle for seconds was intense involving Eliason, Sweet and Schuchart. Bayston raced into lapped traffic on lap 18 and that allowed Sweet to close. Eliason’s great run at the front came to an end on lap 23 when he slid off the high side of the track. When the green flew Bayston could not shake Sweet as Macedo moved in to challenge as well.

A final caution with 10 laps to go gave Bayston clean air and a clear track. He immediately jumped to the thin cushion and drove away for the win over Sweet, Macedo, Donny Schatz who started 22nd and Schuchart.

Bayston became the 25th different winner of the Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic Presented by Racing Optics.

Attica Raceway Park will get back to action Friday, July 23 on Baumann Auto Group/NAPA Auto Parts/Advanced Drainage Systems Night with the All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads/Kistler Racing Products 410 Attica Fremont Championship Series Presented by the Baumann Auto Group, the Dirt Nerds Podcast/Propane.com UMP Late Models as part of the Attica/Oakshade Raceway Challenge Series and the NAPA of Bryan 305 AFCS Presented by Jason Dietsch Trailer Sales.

For more information go to www.atticaracewaypark.com or follow the track on Twitter @atticaracewyprk or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/atticaracewaypark and Instagram at attica_raceway_park.

Continue reading