Missler earns 2nd straight Attica late model win; Stroup takes thrilling FAST 305 victory; Sorg tames trucks

Friday, July 6, 2018
Contact: Brian Liskai


By Brian Liskai

ATTICA, Ohio – It took Ryan Missler four years to find victory lane at Attica Raceway Park. The Bellevue, Ohio driver must like the scenery as he scored his second straight late model win Friday, July 6 on Croghan Colonial Bank/Bazell Race Fuels Night.

In a thrilling 305 sprint car feature, Fremont, Ohio’s Dustin Stroup held off Jamie Miller for his second victory of the season while Fremont, Ohio’s Keith Sorg dominated the last half of the dirt truck feature for his second career win at Attica.

Missler used a restart to grab the lead from defending Attica champion Devin Shiels. Missler and Shiels battled the last eight laps of the Summit Racing Equipment UMP Late Model A-main through lapped traffic. It’s a good thing the feature wasn’t 26 laps as Missler had a left rear tire going down and by the time he found victory lane it was completely flat. It was the 13th career late model win for the five-time Attica champion aboard his Posi-Flow by Slucket, SCS Gearbox, King Industrial Supply, Terry McConnell Excavating, York Fabrication, Handy Grafix, Missler’s Sweets, Turn Key Blog Team, Wilson’s Barber Shop backed #50Y.

“I could feel the tire going down. It doesn’t get any better than this. That lapped traffic was hairy and I didn’t want to see that last caution (with two laps to go) because I felt pretty good maneuvering through there. They were all on the bottom and I was just going to keep running the top. The car’s been pretty good…a lot better than the last couple of years. I feel comfortable in this thing now. I have to thank Jerry and Matt and Amber and Dave and all our sponsors,” said Missler in the Engine Pro Victory Lane. Continue reading

Hoseheads, Valentines add extra cash for Attica’s Brad Doty Classic


Tuesday, July 3, 2018

ATTICA, Ohio – Everyone knows that feeling of just missing out on a 50/50 ticket or winning a prize. It’s no different in the world of sprint car racing. There will always be that driver that just misses the A-main by one spot.

That driver will benefit from an extra $500 thanks to Alan Holland of  www.hoseheads.com during the 30th Annual Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic Presented by Racing Optics on Tuesday, July 10 at Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio.

The additional funds will go to the driver that “just missed it,” most likely the first non-qualifier or fifth place finisher in the Weld Racing Last Chance Showdown. The cash will go to the first car that did not qualify for the A-main who can’t use a World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series provisional.

“While it won’t make up for the disappointment of missing the A-main, the extra $500 from Hoseheads.com will help soften the blow a little,” said Brad Doty, Co-Promoter of the race.

Also, long time race fans Jim Valentine and his daughter Nicole will offer up $500 to the fast qualifier.

“Jim and Nicole were fans I’ve become good friends with over the years. They’ve contributed fast time money a few times in the past, but this being the 30th anniversary, they wanted to increase it even more. I’m always thankful for their involvement and it’s going to be a nice bonus for someone,” Doty said.

The 30th Annual Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic Presented by Racing Optics hits the track at Attica Raceway Park on Tuesday, July 10 (rain date of Wednesday, July 11) featuring the best sprint car drivers in the world. The 2017 Brad Doty Classic had 58 drivers compete for the $10,000 top prize, the largest single day car count of the season for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series.

This year will mark the 14th consecutive season the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series have sanctioned the Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic Presented by Racing Optics. There have been 22 different winners in the 27 contested Brad Doty Classic features (2 have been rained out).

Reserved seats for the Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic presented by Racing Optics are on sale at every event at Attica Raceway Park leading up to the event and are $35. You can also purchase advanced seating by going to www.atticaracewaypark.com and click on the Brad Doty Classic link at the top of the main page or at the World of Outlaws site at www.woosprint.com/schedule/2018 and click on “buy tickets” to the right of the Brad Doty Classic date (July 10).

For more information go to www.atticaracewaypark.com or follow the track on Twitter @atticaracewyprk or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/atticaracewaypark and Instagram at attica_raceway_park.

Martin gets 1st 410 FAST win at Attica; Missler breaks 4 year late model drought; Miller continues to shine in 305s

Friday, June 29, 2018
Contact: Brian Liskai

By Brian Liskai

ATTICA, Ohio – Brock Martin ended a two year winless streak in 410 sprint car racing Friday, June 29, claiming his first ever win at Attica Raceway Park. Martin, who destroyed a car a few weeks ago while battling for the lead at Attica, had to take some time off as well due to an illness.

Martin, from Wooster, Ohio, used a lapped car as a pick to take the lead from Adam Kekich on lap 18 and drove away for the victory on Baumann Auto Group/Kear’s Speed Shop/Edward Jones-Mike Neill Advisor Fan Appreciation Night.

“Joe and Diane Seeling took a chance on me and I can’t thank them enough. Floyd, JR and everyone that helps out on this. Last year we struggled and this year we brought on my dad and my buddy Matt to help out. I knew I had to utilize the top and make what I could out of it. That’s where I like to run at this place…where you can really get after it. I was struggling off of two but I think everyone was a little bit. My dad always tells me to keep digging so I kept digging,” Martin said beside his Sugar Street Bar & Grill, Northwest Ohio Towing, Beaverdam Fleet Service, Guerne Heights Drive-In, Kistler Racing Products backed #97.

“This is the first time I’ve had a win since my Grandma passed away at the end of 2016 so this one is for her and my family, my mom and dad and my brother who worked for Jason Johnson for two years. We’re definitely thinking about his family. My girlfriend Samantha has been an absolute rock in my life and has put me in the right direction. My brother’s wife Kate is a big supporter of me too. I can’t thank all those people enough,” Martin added in the Engine Pro Victory Lane.
Continue reading

DKW Transport is official sponsor of Brad Doty Classic heats

Thursday, June 28, 2018
By Brian Liskai

ATTICA, Ohio – Shawn Loken loves racing. He travels around the country attending events and his company’s name – DKW Transport – can be found on race cars from coast to coast, including being the title sponsor of the heat races for the 30th Annual Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic presented by Racing Optics. The event will be held Tuesday, July 10 (rain date of Wednesday, July 11) at Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio, and will once again feature the World of Outlaw Craftsman Sprint Car Series.

DKW Transport is a cargo and freight trucking company that Loken operates out of his home base in New Richland, Minnesota.

“Do to recent health issues I’ve decided to cut back on my involvement in racing this year. But, I’m proud to have the DKW Transport name affiliated with the other great companies who support the Brad Doty Classic,” Loken said.

 “I couldn’t be happier that Shawn is back with our race. He has done so much for the racing community,” said Brad Doty, co-promoter of the race. Continue reading