Attica 2018 Fremont Fence 305 Sprint Champion Paul Weaver

Attica 2018 Callies Performance 410 Sprint Champion Stuart Brubaker

Attica 2018 Summit Racing Equipment UMP Late Model Champion Ryan Markham

Attica Raceway Park wraps up 30th anniversary season at gala banquet


Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2018

Contact: Rex LeJeune



By Brian Liskai


ATTICA, Ohio – Attica Raceway Park wrapped up it’s 30th anniversary season Saturday, Nov. 10 at a gala banquet, rewarding the top 10 in points in the Callie’s Performance Center 410 Sprints, Summit Racing Equipment UMP Late Models and Fremont Fence 305 Sprints.


Nearly $47,000 in point fund money was distributed among the three divisions and Attica promoter John Bores thanked all the  business partners who help make that possible. Bores noted the 2019 season, which begins in late March, will be similar to the past year with the World of Outlaw Craftsman Sprint Cars coming back for the Ohio Logistics Brad Doty Classic Presented by Racing Optics along with several stops by the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions. Bores noted improvements are on-going around the track and new dirt has been added.


Director of Operations Rex LeJeune also thanked all the track employees and noted Bores had just completed his 13th season as Attica Promoter and thanked him on behalf of the fans and race teams for his dedication to the sport.


Gibsonburg, Ohio’s Stuart Brubaker claimed his first ever 410 track title in 2018. Attica’s 2008 305 sprint track champion, Brubaker competed in 11 of the 13 possible A-mains in 2018, missing only an All Star show on June 15 and the World of Outlaws event on July 10. He started the year strong, winning on opening night, April 14, and again on May 18 to run his career victory total to seven at Attica. He recorded four top five finishes and nine top 10 runs. Brubaker’s average A-main finishing position was eighth.


Ashland, Ohio’s Ryan Markham claimed his first ever Attica late model title in 2018. One of two drivers to compete in all 12 A-mains in 2018, Markham, who also claimed his third Attica-Wayne County Challenge Series title, also won the 2018 Wayne County Speedway Championship. His first Attica title came about with consistency as he earned seven top five finishes and 11 top 10 runs. In fact Markham’s only finish outside the top 10 in 2018 was a 13th during the American Ethanol Series event on May 11. Markham scored his 14th career Attica late model win on June 15 as he sits tied for third on the track’s all-time win list. Markham’s average A-main finishing position was fifth.


Fremont, Ohio’s Paul Weaver wrapped up his fourth 305 sprint title at Attica which is also his third straight championship at the track. The two time JLH General Contractor FAST 305 champion competed in all 12 A-mains in 2018, never finishing out of the top nine. He recorded seven top three finishes including five wins, three of which were the final events of the season, running his career total to 48 in the division to sit atop the all-time win list. Weaver’s average A-main finishing position was fourth. Continue reading

Attica Raceway Park to hand out $47,000 in point funds

Friday, Sept. 28, 2018
Contact: Rex LeJeune
ATTICA, Ohio – Attica Raceway Park will wrap up its 30th Anniversary Season by handing out $47,000 in point fund money to the top 10 in points in the track’s weekly divisions. The awards banquet will be held at the Attica Fairgrounds Reception Hall on Saturday, Nov. 10 with doors opening at 4:30 p.m., dinner following at 5 p.m. with the awards ceremony following.
Tickets are $25 per person and drivers must be present to receive their point fund money. Tickets must be purchased in advance by Friday, Nov. 2; there will be no tickets sold at the door. To purchase tickets contact Rex LeJeune at 419-680-5606. He will have tickets available at the All Wheels Swap Meet at the Sandusky County Fairgrounds in Fremont on Oct. 27.
The top 10 in points in the Callie’s Performance Products 410 Sprints are: 1. Stuart Brubaker; 2. Byron Reed; 3. Craig Mintz; 4. Cap Henry; 5. DJ Foos; 6. Jordan Ryan; 7. Chris Andrews; 8. Tyler Gunn; 9. Jess Stiger; 10. Travis Philo. The rookie of the year is Kelsey Ivy.
The top 10 in points for the Summit Racing Equipment UMP Late Models are: 1. Ryan Markham; 2. Ryan Missler; 3. Steve Kester; 4. Devin Shiels; 5. Dan Wallace; 6. Jeff Warnick; 7. Mike Bores; 8. John Mayes; 9. Nate Potts; 10. Doug Baird. The rookie of the year is Dustin Keegan.
The top 10 in points for the Fremont Fence 305 Sprints are: 1. Paul Weaver; 2. Kyle Capodice; 3. Brandon Moore; 4. John Ivy; 5. Steve Rando; 6. Bobby Clark; 7. Seth Schneider; 8. Kyle Peters; 9. Jason Keckler; 10. Jamie Miller.

Macedo finally breaks through for 1st Attica All Star win

Saturday, Sept. 1, 2018
Contact: Brian Liskai
By Brian Liskai
ATTICA, Ohio – Carson Macedo finally got the monkey off his back at Attica Raceway Park. The past couple of years the Lemoore, California driver looked on his way to an Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions feature win at “Ohio’s Finest Racing” speed plant only to have a mechanical issue. It all came together Saturday, Sept. 1 as he claimed the Dirt Classic Ohio victory in dominating fashion to close out the 2018 season at Attica Raceway Park on All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads Night.
Macedo took the lead from Cale Thomas on lap two and then lost it to Craig Mintz – who ironically put Macedo in a second team car to come to Ohio a few years ago – in heavy lapped traffic on lap 9. He regained the lead on a restart on lap 10 only to see Mintz challenge again in lapped traffic at the half-way point. Once he cleared traffic, his only challenge would come with six laps to go on a restart. Macedo pulled away in the Tim and Cindy Norman, Joe Gaerte owned machine to score his fourth All Star win of 2018. It was his fifth career series win. It was Macedo’s second career win at Attica.
“This is one of the hardest places in the world to win at in my opinion. There’s so many good local guys…they have a lot of talent. We’ve been so fast here in previous All Star shows we’ve just had bad luck or things happen that set us back. To get the win for my guys, Joe Gaerte, Eric Slade with Slade Shocks, Tim and Cindy Norman and all my sponsors…it’s definitely a team effort. I have a blast driving their car and I’m looking forward to the rest of the All Star season,” Macedo said beside his Tarlton and Son, Southern Pacific Farms, Eagle Ignition Leads, Shepherd Chevrolet, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions backed machine.

Continue reading